While you were out…

Over the weekend I tackled a little “while you were out” project while the hubby was off snowboarding in Colorado.  I have not surprised him with one of these little projects since before we had kids… who has the time with 2 little ones running around?!?  However, it was time!

About a year ago, I decided the only solution to our family room was to add built-ins on both sides of our fireplace.  I thought it was brilliant… hubby didn’t like the idea.  I figured it was probably the cost he didn’t like and thought he would soften with time.  Well, a year later, there was no movement on his part, so I started to think this might not happen for longer than anticipated… Plan B would need to be figured out in the meantime.  I sat and stared at my fireplace wall again.

Fireplace wall before

Fireplace wall before

Then it hit me!!!  The wall, fireplace, trim, AND ceiling were all the same color and nothing popped anywhere on that side of the room.  It was a sea of white!!  This epiphany occurred to me right before heading off to an afternoon play date… and lucky for me, the play date was with two mom friends who have awesome style and decorating sense!  After arriving, I presented a picture of my fireplace wall and immediately, one of them picked out the gray veining in the marble surrounding the fireplace and suggested I pull that color out and paint the wall gray.  I love having such talented friends!

The ball was now rolling and there was no stopping it!  I picked up swatches on the way home, and within seconds after the hubby pulled out of the driveway for his fun snowy filled weekend, I pulled out the swatches for my fun “fix the fireplace wall” weekend!  Within a couple hours, the fireplace was de-accessorized, the wall was taped off, and the color had been selected… Benjamin Moore San Antonio Gray!

Benjamin Moore San Antonio Gray

Benjamin Moore San Antonio Gray

My two little co-conspirators went with me to get the paint mixed.  As a treat, I picked up a Little Caesars pizza for dinner since it was next door to the paint store.  Okay, who am I kidding?  It wasn’t a treat… it was a way to feed them quickly and easily while I finished prepping, so I could start painting as soon as they went to bed!

The painting went smoothly, and I was finished in a couple hours!  The next day I visited a few different stores looking for accessories, chairs, and a small desk (or similar) to bring the kids’ computer up from the basement (aka “the dungeon”).  I found a few items for the mantle, but after trying them in the space, I wasn’t in love.  Luckily, my parents were coming to visit on President’s Day, so I had the day to shop without the girls in tow… woo hoo!  After 5 long hours and many miles burned, my SUV was stuffed with chairs, a desk, and all the accessories I needed!

A little green to add color

A little green to add color

A lantern for height

A lantern for height

More green and a touch of Easter

More green and a touch of Easter

Voila!!!  It was complete!!!  I couldn’t be happier with the new look!

Finally... it's pretty and usable!

Finally… it’s pretty and usable!

Here is a closer view of the mantle…

Mantle close-up

Mantle close-up

The hubby was definitely surprised by my little project!  Considering the furniture I needed to purchase, he couldn’t believe I managed to keep it in a reasonable budget range rather than going a little crazy with the credit card!  And, one of the best parts is that the girls actually use the computer now!

Curly enjoying the new space

Curly enjoying the new space

I think it’s safe to say that I won’t be bothering the hubby about built-ins for awhile… I’m in love with this new look too much to change it!

7 thoughts on “While you were out…

  1. Pingback: Fall Fireplace | A little fun, a little love, and a whole lot of craziness

Leave a Reply

