Snow… real measurable snow

Until recent weeks, we had not received measurable snow for almost an entire year!  In the last week, it has snowed a total of 7 inches.  I feel slightly responsible for this cold & wet snow falling from the sky, because about a month ago I uttered the statement “If it’s going to be cold, we may as well have snow.”  Lesson learned… keep my internal dialogue to myself… 😉

The kids have been beyond excited with all the white stuff!  Sledding, snowball fights, and snowmen have been the activities of choice the last few days.

A snowy picture break

A snowy picture break

Frosty

Frosty

I took my snow related activity inside with a recipe I ran across months ago.  SNOW ICE CREAM!!!!!  I found it via pinterest (surprise, surprise)… you can find the original recipe here.  The recipe made A TON of ice cream, so I would definitely cut it in 1/2 the next time I make it.  I also altered it as follows:

– 2 eggs

– 1 1/2 cups sugar

– 2 cups skim milk

– 1 cup whipping cream

– 1 cup 1/2 & 1/2

– 3 1/2 tsp vanilla (adjust as necessary for flavor)

– LOTS of clean snow

Snow ice cream

Snow ice cream

The girls thought it was the best thing ever to be eating ice cream made of snow.  It was definitely a different consistency from traditional ice cream, but it was super good and even the hubby liked it!  I highly recommend trying it the next time you want to turn the fluffy white stuff into fluffy good stuff!

2 thoughts on “Snow… real measurable snow

Leave a Reply

