The death of a camera

A few years ago, we bought Pumpkin a Fisher Price camera for Christmas.  She loved that thing!

Fisherprice cameraThe only downside… it ate through batteries!!  I know I’m not the only mom who “forgets” to change batteries in toys.  Every once in awhile, Pumpkin would catch me at the right time, and I would put in new batteries.  Fast forward 5 years, Pumpkin found the camera again and is now old enough to change the batteries on her own.  After checking to make sure they were in there correctly, she headed off in search of the perfect picture.  Keep in mind this girl blows through the storage on her iPod Touch taking countless pictures… some of which are really good!  Anyway, I digress… she took a picture or two with her camera and realized it kept locking up.  Very upset something was wrong, she came running to me.  Before trying anything, I plugged the camera into my computer to download the pictures she had taken.  Once that was complete, we tried a few things before realizing the camera could not be fixed.  Oh my… the tears… like full on sobbing tears!!  I was truly shocked how upset she was about the loss of her camera.  She finally explained this camera was used to take pictures of the 3 different houses she had lived in… to her it was like a piece of her past was going away.

After helping her calm down, I looked through the pictures we downloaded.  It was the same feeling as developing a roll of 35mm film after you hadn’t used the camera for a while.  Four years of sporadically taken pictures sat on my computer.  The quality was shoddy, but the subject matter was heart warming.  She had taken pictures of things important to her… her family, her dog, her friends, and her home… all through the eyes of a 3 year old.  I have included my favorites below!

Pumpkin self-portrait

Pumpkin self-portrait

Curly learning to crawl

Curly learning to crawl

Her daddy working

Her daddy working

A big cheese from Mommy

A big cheese from Mommy

Our Smokey

Our Smokey

Memories like this are priceless and after looking through these pictures, I too was sad about the death of her camera.

Leave a Reply

