Green smoothie on the go

It seems fitting that I would be adding a post about a green smoothie in time for St. Patrick’s Day.  I always thought the idea of a green smoothie seemed gross… now I realize where Pumpkin got her pickiness about food appearance!!

Anyway, I ran across a recipe for a green smoothie on Pinterest.  Normally, I would cite it, but I changed it around enough that I actually consider this one my own!  This has become my staple for lunch 4-5 days a week.  It really helps me to get enough fruits & veggies in and is really pretty filling (for a smoothie)!!

Smoothie Ingredients

Green Smoothie Recipe

– 1/2 cup milk (skim)

– 2 clementines (or Cuties)

– 1 cup (or so) greek yogurt

– 1 Tbsp flaxseed

– 1 1/2 – 2 cups baby spinach

– 1/2 apple (sliced)

– 1 banana

– 4-5 strawberries (frozen or fresh)

– 1-2 ice cubes (if you don’t use frozen strawberries)

Ingredients in blender

Put ingredients into a blender.  I found it blended better when I put the milk & clementines in 1st followed by the remaining ingredients.  Blend to desired consistency.

Green Smoothie

Enjoy!!!  My food color picky child still has a hard time with this, but the younger one LOVES it!!!  The hubby calls it my green ooze.  Call it whatever you want, it has definitely helped me feel great and much healthier.  I have lost a couple pounds too so no complaints here!

Leave a Reply

